Booting to Ubuntu for the first time

April 28, 2007

Since the decision was made I decided to get right into it. I downloaded the Ubuntu “Feisty” ISO image and burned it to a CD. I rebooted to the CD.

The time from the POST test finishing until the boot menu displayed was perhaps a second – not much longer. Good stuff.

I first ran the CD media test. I did not want a bad image to cause problems and have me attribute them to Ubuntu. The test ran without issues (took about 8 minutes).

Next I choose the “Start or Install” option. I was very happy to see that booting to a test environment was an option. I’m not exactly sure what this means (is it just a ram disk or is anything being saved to my hard drive) but I’m happy that I can test drive the hardware computability and let me wife and kids have a crack at this without having to go all-in right off the bat.

This blog post is being drafted in OpenOffice Writer. I find it humorous that OpenOffice does not have the word “OpenOffice” in its spell check dictionary.

Next I will check the hardware configuration to see if everything detected properly.

5 Responses to “Booting to Ubuntu for the first time”

  1. Brian Says:

    Technically, it’s called OpenOffice.org, which it does have in its dictionary.
    Keep up the good work!

  2. Jeff Says:

    Actually, its not all that surprising that OpenOffice does not have its own name in its spell check dictionary. This is because of the way in which linux software works. Rather than each application coming with everything that it needs to run (like windows apps), they come with only what is unique to their function, then rely on dependencies for common tasks.

    Basically, instead of OpenOffice creating its own spell checker, it has a dependency to utilize a common spell checker used by multiple applications across the whole system. So really the term “OpenOffice” shows up as misspelled because the system’s common spell checker was not created with that term in mind.

  3. Pia Waugh Says:

    I totally suggest you join a Linux User Group or at least a good mailing list. It helps you get into the community side of things and is also really inspiring. I go to every local Linux usergroup meeting I can (http://slug.org.au) and it gives me that monthly enthusiasm injection, while at the same time learning cool stuff and hearing about awesome local geeks. I used Linux for a few years before I got into the community side of things and it was an amazing experience. I’m also involved in Software Freedom International (http://softwarefreedomday.org) and other groups.

    Check it out🙂

  4. Mackenzie Says:

    It’s running from RAM. Nothing touches your hard drive until you hit the “apply” at the end of the installation wizard.

  5. Jody Says:

    I find it humorous that you find it humorous that OpenOffice is not in its own spell check. A very Microsoft POV. OpenOffice is not in any dictionary I’ve seen of late. It would be pretty presumptuous of Writer’s spell check to assume that you were talking about them instead of “a very open office atmosphere where people can discuss… yada yada”. Keep up the good work!


Leave a Reply

