Step 3: Install Ubuntu

April 29, 2007

Finally it was time to install Ubuntu to the newly created partitions. I booted to the Ubuntu CD and …

wait … what’s going on? Why am I in 640×480 mode? It’s always been fine before.

Did I accidentally choose safe graphics mode? Sure – that’s what I must have done.

So I rebooted and made doubly sure I selected the proper startup option. This is looking much better … wait … the screen just flashed. I’m in 640×480 again. Perhaps it’s just a configuration problem. System -> Preferences -> Screen Resolution … yup … 640×480 – so I’ll just select the drop-down l…

There are no other options.

Why do I care so much? Because the Ubuntu installer does not run properly in 640×480 because the control buttons (forward, back, etc) are not visible – the windows are too large and they do not have the option to scroll.

I went through this dance twice before actually choosing to start in the graphics safe mode.

Well in safe graphics mode it worked as expected! 1280×1024 resolution. I have no idea what happened. I’m going to call it an anomaly and not worry about it. I don’t know enough about Ubuntu to assume it was anything other than user error.

Since I was in a decent resolution I ran the installer by using the “Install” link on the desktop.

Installing was a breeze. I had to pick my timezone, keyboard info, create an account for myself, and manually configure the partitions I created earlier. Then about 20 minutes later the installation was complete.

I rebooted and was greeted by a new boot loader that let me choose between a few Ubuntu options and Windows XP. Exactly what I hoped for.

I booted to Ubuntu, logged in using the account I created, opened a terminal window and created a symbolic link from a directory under /media/sda5 (the shared drive – it took me a little while to find the proper location) into my home directory. Now I can easily share data between the two systems.

Oh – and my NTFS drive is mounted too so I guess that was unnecessary but I’m glad to have done it since it was a good learning experience.

Now that it’s working – its time to move on to the next pet project.

4 Responses to “Step 3: Install Ubuntu”

  1. Denmaru Says:

    The next project? Why don’t tell us something about your first days of using Ubuntu then?

  2. makingtheswitch Says:

    Re: Denmaru,

    I should have been clearer – I’m not moving on to other non-Ubuntu projects. The next project will be about usage. I won’t be comfortable developing on Linux for a while and I need to get up to speed. It’s been almost a decade since I used non-MS development tools (other than Source Insight). I’ve picked up a copy of O’Reilly’s Linux in a Nutshell (reference, not tutorial-ish) and am starting to read through that.

  3. Melakai Says:

    Just a note, Feisty now includes NTFS write support out the box- no need for a “shared” FAT32 partition.

  4. C Says:

    I think write is disabled by default (after Windows 2000, the NTFS version changed from NT, and people who wrote to it from Linux destroyed their partition). However for full safe write capability, ntfs-config is what you have to download to use the FUSE ntfs-3g writer. It’s in the universe repo.

    BTW how come you’re not running Vista on the computer you’re dual-booting Ubuntu with?


Leave a Reply

